We’ll Miss you Aunt Irene

15 09 2008

This post is in memory of my Great Aunt Irene Rudisill Saunders.

Yesterday, I went to one of the most touching and inspirational graveside memorial services I’ve ever been to.  Given I’ve been pretty lucky and not too many of my close family have passed away, this was definitely a moment to remember.

My Great Aunt Irene was a wonderful woman, always helping others all her life.  The way Aunt Irene lived her life makes you want to be more like her and makes you want to help others less fortunate, or really anyone that needs help.   It was amazing how she could remember every little detail of so many peoples lives.  She was a staunch democrat and was always expressing her views to others.  I truly believe that many of my personal views were shaped by her.  She helped raise me when I was really young, and I really loved going to visit her and playing at her house.  These are some of my earliest memories that I treasure and I will be writing about them here so I never forget them.

I feel very fortunate that I was able to bring my new baby girl Charlotte to visit with Aunt Irene a few months ago.  She’s way too young to remember it, but I took some nice pictures of them playing and also a video of one of her classic stories about how I acted as a boy.  She never let me forget that it’s not whether you win or lose, its how you play the game.

Irene and I always played cards.  She usually let me win, but one time I lost a game I got mad and told her, “I’m not gonna be your friend anymore.”  Over the years I’ve heard this story an amazing number of times and it was always the same, especially the way she told the story and her voice and tone that made the story great!

Over the years it was harder to go visit with Irene, but lately I was able to reconnect with her before she passed away and I cherish those moments.  Every Christmas when I was able to pick her up and take her to our Christmas gatherings was also a joy and it was very evident that even though her body was tired, her mind was as sharp as a tack.

We will all miss Aunt Irene greatly, but she will live on in so many peoples lives and memories.  Most certainly in my life and I will always remember her dearly.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment